It was just a damn Facebook “advertised content” featuring facts about about the original Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory and I never really gave a damn about the movie other than a few hours of entertainment as a kid, which I appreciate because I hated my childhood and anything that I look back on fondly I do so with appreciation. Anyway, this story talked about odd copyright deals and the author of the book that the movie was based on and other things like this but what got to me was when they showed the actors and what they look like now. They’re old. Also most of the candy on set was fake. And the chocolate river was water mixed with chocolate and cream that spoiled towards the end of shooting. All these ideals are just that: attractive ideas of a blissful universe where adventures are paramount but beneath the apex of all of these mountains so blissfully climbed for the profile picture is just cardboard or, at best, laminated wood with a cliff face veneer. Does this make any sense? I didn’t think so. I can’t drink anymore and that don’t make sense either. Alcohol really let me down, just like wooden chocolate bars or card board gobbstoppers must have let down those now old actors on set long ago. Dammit.

 

 

 

 

Dammit.

Leave a Reply

