I don’t know about you but I always used alcohol as a way to escape the pressures of the day (well, I used alcohol for everything but that was a big one). It was a way to, when I would first start drinking every day, unwind and escape all the stresses and irritations that I had been dealing with. It was my exit from all that. Now I don’t have that exit and I am having to reinvent my way out of the day. Oddly enough (he says sarcastically) my stresses have gone way down since I quite drinking. Life just seems easier without a massive hangover all the time. That being said I still have stresses and I still need to unwind so what am I doing? Well, I still smoke cigarettes. Less now, and plan to stop soon, but for now that is one. Another thing I do to relax is read and write, like right now. Going to meetings and talking to other drunks is a great way to get all the trash out of my mind and into the light so that I can relax. Mineral water and ice cream are currently taking the place of all those booze and you know what? It works. My exit from the rat race is a brighter one now. One that doesn’t follow me into the next day, the next lap in the rat race and for that I am truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

